TED Extravaganza

Dear readers, when you are reading this I shall be getting gloriously sunburnt/desparingly soggy (delete as weather dictates) camping with my partner and our one and a half year old daughter in a field full of buttercups (it’s gonna be AWESOME!). Rather than leave you with no update I thought this week I would share with you some of my favourite TED videos.

Here at Cambridge Kung Fu HQ we are ever so slightly obsessed with TED videos and always on the hunt for one that our colleagues haven’t seen as of yet. The ones that follow are some of the ones that have inspired me (professionally and personally) and I hope they have the same effect on you.

Ali Carr-Chellman: Gaming to re-engage boys in learning

Being a martial arts company we have a lot of boys in our classes, as a female instructor I sometimes struggle to see things from a young male perspective and this video really helped me to start seeing activites in our classes from their point of view.

Sir Ken Robinson: Bring on the learning revolution

Ken Robinson says schools kill creativity

These two talks I absolutely love with a passion! In fact I often contemplate having his creatively educated babies (shhhhhh don’t tell Tom!). These videos help remind me to look at alternative ways of providing learning opportunities for the children in our classes.

Derek Sivers: Keep your goals to yourself

This one struck a chord personally for me. I realised that I have never followed through on any really big ideas I have had outside of work as I have already received the positive stimulation of congratulations from everyone I tell about the idea. Now I keep my personal goals more to myself to inspire myself to actually achieve them.

Sugata Mitra shows how kids teach themselves

This particular video reminds me to just LET GO! You may remember that I am a bit of a control freak, but this shows me that kids can learn anything if you just give them the opportunity to do so! Set aside my preconceptions on what the children I teach can and can’t handle in the class and just give it a go, they can (and very often have) amaze me with their response.

Gabe Zichermann: How games make kids smarter

Embrace the skills that (child appropriate) video games can teach the kids. This talk helps me to see how trying to keep children completely tech free at all times in this day and age is fighting a losing battle. By engaging with children while they are playing their games and encouraging them to apply those skills in every day situations away from the game can lead to a harmonious household and a more adaptable child. Please take this talk with a pinch of salt I am not advocating suddenly letting children play video games whenever they want 24/7, but instead using games as an additional learning opportunity.

And finally I leave you with two very awesome videos by my boss, our head Wing Chun Instructor and our only (at the moment) Circular Strength Training Instructor. Here is Ross Sargent advocating and demonstrating the benefits of intelligent and mindful movement.

Blindfold Kung Fu

Mindful Movement

Enjoy the sunny weather and I shall see you all in a couple of weeks!

2 thoughts on “TED Extravaganza

  1. I so enjoy the TED videos! Thank you for sharing what looks like a treasure trove of good ones. I will have to check them out when I can turn on the volume on my computer! For now, I wish you and your family a wonderful time camping. Have fun!

    • We’re a bit addicted here at kung fu central so you can imagine how awesome it was when my boss got to talk at a TED event. Hope you enjoy them when you get some time 🙂 plus the camping was awesome!

Penny for them?

